BMW confirms two-car Spa assault with Walkenhorst Motorsport

27 January 2020

BMW has renewed its commitment to the Total 24 Hours of Spa, confirming that a pair of factory-supported M6 GT3s will be on the grid at this year's race. 

As the most decorated brand in the event history with 24 overall wins BMW has become synonymous with the Belgian endurance classic, enjoying sustained success during the touring car era and under the current GT regulations. 

This season it will be represented by 2018 race-winner Walkenhorst Motorsport, which will lead the brand's Intercontinental GT Challenge Powered by Pirelli assault. A single M6 GT3 will contest this weekend's Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour, before a second car joins full-time from Spa onwards. 

The Bathurst line-up will feature 2015 Total 24 Hours of Spa winner Nick Catsburg alongside fellow factory driver Augusto Farfus and local ace Chaz Mostert. At Spa, factory racers Martin Tomczyk and Nick Yelloly will be joined by David Pittard, who made his Ardennes debut last year as the Silver-rated driver in Walkenhorst's Am Cup effort. 

The lead Walkenhorst machine was BMW's top finisher in last year's Total 24 Hours of Spa, with Catsburg, Mikkel Jensen and 2018 winner Christian Krognes finishing 11th overall. Futher BMW representation is expected from customer squads at this summer's race. 

The 2020 running of the Total 24 Hours of Spa will begin in earnest on Wednesday 22 July with the annual parade to Spa town centre. This is followed by practice and qualifying on Thursday and Friday (July 23/24), with the race playing out across Saturday and Sunday (July 25/26). Tickets are on general sale now.